SPD: Me

2015-02-19 13.47.02Here is this weeks installment of Scrappy Play Date with Alicia and Hannah! (Every week myself and Hannah come up with a challenge for each other and create a layout and a YouTube video for that specific challenge!)

This week our challenge was to use up some of our older stash so I pulled out my ALL time favorite paper line Maggie Holmes “Flea Market”. ( I have hoarded bits and pieces of this collection and NOTHING goes in the trash lol)

20150219_134431I started by choosing this black and white diagonal paper for my background and applied some Utrect gesso (I get mine from Dick Blick’s) to the area where my main focal point was going to be with a crunched up dry paper towel.  Then I selected several different papers from the collection to build up my layers! I wanted to add a lot of texture so I tore some of them and used an EK Success scallop punch on the teal paper.  The vellum in the background was ran through a chicken wire Anna Griffin embossing folder and I love the subtle layer it added!

20150219_134441This is a little bit more layering with some washi and some of the coordinating embellishments that are from “Flea Market”.

Gotta love those resin flowers and I only have one left!!!

Since I don’t have a sewing machine I really love the stitching that is on the layered heart! And sequins! What would I do without some lovely Teresa Collins sequins??!!

20150219_134458This is  a closer look at the main cluster adorning a rare scrapped photo of…ME! I must say I am a bit guilty of always being the person behind the camera so I thought to document a photo of myself would be fun..and it was! The title is made up of these fabulous chipboard pieces and I just backed them with some more of the patterned paper and layered it with some ephemera!

I do hope that you enjoyed and thank you so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

