SPD:Happy Hiding

Hi there Alicia here and I’m back with a really fun summer layout for Hannah and my SPD challenge! It’s finally getting hot here in MN and I thought it would be so fun to scrap a pic documenting that!  We decided to focus on using out dies and embossing folders this week and I had a really great time doing just that! I can get a bit caught up in using the ephemera that comes with a lot of these awesome lines and can forget sometimes about my dies ( and the big investment I’ve made in them lol…do you ever do that? See a die and think man I would use that ALL the time and then don’t lol? )  I used a scallop square nesting set from Sizzix along with some dies from Heidi Swapp and Lawn Fawn for my title!  And to add to the fun I had to use the #Summer collection from American Crafts! The colors are so fun and perfect for summer pages!

20150608_182305

After I die cut my scalloped squares out with my Big Shot I decided to go with a diagonal grid type of design.  I just placed different sized squares in different colors how I liked them, backed my pic on some vellum and then started to embellish!  I almost forgot I wanted to do some foiling so I pulled out a Penny Black stencil and some transfer glue to create some polka dots where I wanted the foiling to be.  Then once the glue became tacky I placed some DecoArt foil in a beautiful blue color over it pretty side up and rubbed away.  When I pulled it off I was left with foiled polka dots! LOVE!!!

20150608_182311

The rest of the embellishments were customized as well! I used some color resist dies cuts from Heidi Swapp and some Distress Inks to make them the exact color I wanted for the page! Lots of fun and especially with the new colors Mr. Holtz is coming out with it’s really easy to find a color that you’d like!  Those beautiful blue stars are also from Tim and are called Mirrored Stars! They come just like they sound..mirrored and are stunning as is but I decided to go ahead and use some alcohol ink in the color Pool to make them match the blue in the papers!  The little gold stars are punched out of some gold foil paper with the most adorable tiny punch that I found at Michaels for get this…1.50! Can’t beat that!  I threw in some flair that coordinate with the collection and some sequins!

20150608_182316

To finish everything off I did some journaling about the photo and added the date with my Heidi Swapp date stamp!

20150608_182324

I sure hope that you like the new page and as always you can always watch the entire process on my YT channel!  Please make sure that you check out Hannah’s take on this fun challenge and hope that we can inspire you to pull out your dies and embossing folders and get creative with them! Thanks so much for stopping by and have an amazing day!!

Here’s a direct link the the video!

Leave a Reply

