SPD: Waitin’ for the Waves

So I had soooooo much fun with this one! This was actually a SPD challenge that Hannah Lemieux and myself do on YT! Hannah picked a sketch for both of us to follow ( I’m so sorry that I don’t have the actual file to post but if you watch the process video that is linked at the end, I do show the sketch on it) and I just had the best time with it and loved how it came out in the end!  I started by adding some clear gesso to a 12×12 sheet of watercolor paper which is quickly becoming my favorite background paper to use.  I actually have a HUGE pad of it that measures 18×24 and I just cut it down to size!  The wight of it is 140lbs. so it holds up really well with anything that my little heart desires to abuse it with HA!  But anyways lol I didn’t actually end up doing any mixed media on it but I didn’t know at that point what I was going to do so I figured better safe then sorry right?  I started by using a Fiskars circle stitching template to punch tiny little holes in my paper and then used some embroidery thread in a lovely mint color and a light pink color. It was a bit tedious to do but I think it really paid off in the end.  Those stitched circles really made the page in my humble opinion!  After that I followed the sketch pretty close so I pushed a bit of Pumice Stone Distress Ink through a Tim Holtz stencil called Splatter and started doing all of my layering and embellishing!20150624_094547

Here’s a closer look at the main cluster! I used a chip frame from The Pier collection (which is another fabulous summer line from Crate Paper from a few years ago) and the rest is ALL embellishments form the Poolside collection with the exception of the enamel dots which are from My Mind’s Eye.  Oh and I should also mention that the yellow flair button is from Styleboard!  Cute isn’t it!  Crate Paper is really genius in the fact that you can pretty much mix and match pieces from most of there lines!  And that life preserver ring chipboard was perfect as the sentiment on it says “floating along happily” which is exactly what she was doing in the pic lol!  You can also see the title peeking out from the bottom of the photo and that is using the tile stickers from Poolside and my new favorite Thicker’s which are in the Fitzgerald font!20150624_094608

This photo is really showcasing the stitching but you can also really see the splatter stencil inking and that little tiny cluster that is in the top right corner of the page!  I just put a few strips of paper and a couple ephemera pieces up there and a sentence of journaling talking about the photo!  20150624_094613Thanks so much for stopping by again! I really appreciate it a lot and I hope that you found a bit of inspiration to maybe do some hand stitching or just to use up some stuff on your own pages! I would love if you would stop by YT and take a look at the process video and I will leave the link below!  Have a great day and hope to see you soon!

One thought on “SPD: Waitin’ for the Waves

  1. Loved this! Thanks so much for sharing. I totally agree with you, those stitched circles really complete the page, and if you hadn’t mentioned the Tim Holtz stencil I would have thought you’d perfected those splatters freehand 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

