The Three Beach Bums

 

 

Hey everyone and welcome back!! I’m so happy that you are stopping by to catch a new page!!  I used the Simple Stories collection Summer Vibes for this layout and I had this idea for awhile that I wanted to incorporate some shaker type elements in a page and I just knew this was the perfect story to do it with!  The photo is of my family on vacation on the beach in FL and the small circles at the bottom are each little individual shaker pockets.  The reason I wanted to use this pic so bad for this was because I had brought back loads of sand from the beach and I thought it would be a cool effect to use some of it in one of the shakers.  I love to use real memorabilia in my pages and I had never done this before so I figured why not right??  It was very trial and error (as you can see if you check out the process video-there will be a link at the bottom of the post in case you are interested!) and although it didn’t come out exactly as I planned, I still like the end result.  As far as the rest of the page it really is just a lot of embellishments from the collection itself, and a few other embellishments mixed in from various companies!  I hope that you enjoy!20150716_191842

Here you can see a closer look at the shaker portion of the page.  I don’t own a Cameo or punches that were this big and obviously a 12×12 wouldn’t fit through my Big Kick so I had to go old school and trace three circles from my Spellbinders circle dies and hand cut them out.  I then covered the WHOLE back of the page in “fun foam” for dimension, picked out the backgrounds for the shakers and put in my fillings.  The first one is some punched hearts and some gold Distress Glitter (Antique Linen), the second one is the sand from the beach, and the last one is some small yellow stars with a teal sheen to them! After they were all done I used another piece of 12×12 paper and glued that to the back of the fun foam and I was ready to shake shake shake it up. ( Just trying to get my Taylor Swift on HA!) I then cut out some circle frames from my Spellbinder dies in Gold foil paper and adhered that around the circles!

20150716_191856

I put the title on the right side of the layout and I used the coordinating sticker sheet with all of the alphas on it for the whole thing.  I also threw some die cuts from Summer Vibes and some stickers from the sticker sheet on there and called it a day lol.

20150716_191905

On the left side of the page I put my journaling and some small die cuts to the upper left of the photo.  There is also a photo overlay over the whole pic which again is from the collection and that is where that adorable “SMILE” comes from on top of the pic.  Cute right?  See, the background paper is so amazing that I had a hard time covering it up and that is why I chose not to do ANY mixed media or sprinkles on the page.  I didn’t want anything to take away from that beautiful paper!!

20150716_191919

Thank you so much for stopping by! I do hope that you liked the page and possibly found just a hint of inspiration to try this on one of your pages! Have a great day and if you’d like to see the video it will be posted below!

Leave a Reply

