Thankful Box (The Crafty Maven Getaway)

20151114_001218

Welcome! Today I am sharing a project that I created for The Crafty Maven Getaway channel over on YouTube.  For this one I was assigned to do “Mix it up Monday” which is basically a day where you create something outside of the box of traditional scrapbooking.  I chose to make what I am calling a “Thankful” box.  I basically constructed a small box that would fit 4×6 cards out of chipboard and used the Notes and Things Project Life kit along with Maggie Holmes Flea Market to decorate it.  I wanted it to be pretty but functional as well.  My vision for this little box is to have somewhere for me and my family to write thoughts of thankfulness or special prayers and later reflect on them or simply use them as a pick me up on a down day.

20151114_001303

Here are a couple of cards that I created for the inside of the box as a starter.  I used the Notes and Things cards as a base and then went ahead and embellished with the die cuts that came along in the kit.  I did add a few little bits from my stash and did a little stamping but all in all I had to keep in mind that there had to be enough room to write down the thoughts that were intended to for this box and had to stop myself several times HA!  It can be hard to do when you have so many pretty things and want to use them all at once!  I do hope that some day the girls will want to create some of their own cards to house their thoughts! I just know years down the line it would be something that we would all love to look back on!

20151114_001324

For the front of the box I did so a bit more then the cards. I used a stencil from the Crafters Workshop and some Tim Holtz distress paint in Cracked Pistachio  to add some color and texture to the background.  Then I grabbed some chipboard frames from Maggie Holmes Open Book and layer two of them together.  I added in some florals and some leaves and a lovely sentiment that I cut out of one of the PL cards and to finish it all I added my favorite Thickers (fitzgerald in gold) to spell out Thankful!

I loved making this little box.  I have to admit it was a bit refreshing to step outside of 12×12 layouts an project life and just make something different!  I will leave the link to the process video below and please make sure that you check out the Crafty Maven Getaway! Have a great day and thank you so much for stopping by!

HUGS~Alicia

Leave a Reply

