12×12 Layout: Merci

IMG_2052

Hello!! I have just been chugging along with my December Daily this month and I felt like I needed to create something that was not holiday related for a change lol.  I think that may be the key for me personally to completing the DD and not getting bored so when the feeling came over me I rolled with it!  I picked out a recent photo of some Macron cookies that my girls had the other day and decided to pull out some We r Memory Keepers, and some American Crafts from my stash for this page.  I also knew that since it has been awhile since I created a 1212 page, that I would want to get a little messy!  I started with a 12×12 piece of white cardstock and primed it with a coat of clear gesso.  I then started to work on my paper layers behind my photo so that I knew where I would want my background to be.  I am using the beautiful Love Notes collection be We R for that.  I also added some strips from that paper pad to the bottom to add a bit of weight down there!  I think the colors looked amazing with those cookies!  Then things got messy!!! Yay!! Sometimes I need that to feel whole again, right?!!  I took some Distress Inks in Shabby Shutters, Spun Sugar, and Worn Lipstick and did a combo of the smoothing technique and just watercoloring with them.  I did some splatters with HS Color Shine in Seafood and some of the TH Distress Spray Stain in Tarnished Bronze, my new fav gold!

IMG_2049

I still felt like I needed some more texture so I grabbed something new to MY stash and although it says it came out in 2013 I never knew it existed!  Let me explain…I was shopping around my local Tuesday Morning one day and came across a 6×12 booklet of stencils by American Crafts.  Since I can’t really resist a stencil, I picked it up and looked and found it was a whole booklet of stencils created my Maggie Holmes (yes that’s right, the scrap queen!) and it was all icons from her first three lines.  SCORE!! Obviously I couldn’t wait to use it lol.  I pushed some Worn Lipstick through one of the floral stencils and I just loved how that came out.  After that I grabbed some roller phrase/date stamps and just went to town.  I really love the effect that gives and I know I have used it before!  Hard to teach me new tricks I guess lol.  I even snuck in a little sewing here and there….Just needed texture and more texture!!

IMG_2047

All that was left after that was the embellishing.  I used lots of my hoarded 5th&Frolic by Dear Lizzy since it had lots of similar colors and that bow…YUMMY>>>that’s from Polka Dot Party and sadly I only have 1 more left, but it was worth it because I love how it looks on this page!  For my title I used some Thicker words and even though Merci means thank you, I figured french cookie> french word…works for me!!  I added in some journaling to the bottom right and that was it!  I hope that you enjoyed the page and that you are enjoying the holiday season, whatever you find yourself doing!  I will leave a link to the video below if you’d like to check that out as well!!

Hugs~Alicia

Leave a Reply

